Covers

Covers of the Week #79: Jordi Penalva

For the week of Monday, November 21, 2022, to Sunday, November 27, 2022, our Covers of the Week focuses on the early romance covers by Jordi Penalva.

daughter of sand

Covers of the Week #78: Oliviero Berni

For the week of Monday, November 14, 2022, to Sunday, November 20, 2022, please enjoy these phenomenal romance covers by artist Oliviero Berni.

Roberta Gellis

Covers of the Week #76: Paranormal Romances

It’s that time of year…Halloween! For the week of Monday, October 31, 2022, to Sunday, November 6, 2022, our Covers of the Week celebrates Halloween by showcasing some spooky paranormal romance covers.

paranormal romance covers

Covers of the Week #75 – Gothic Romances

We’re celebrating Halloween with creepy, yet gorgeous art. For the week of Monday, October 24, 2022, to Sunday, October 30, 2022, our Covers of the Week shows off some eerie Gothic covers.

the-intrusion-mccrae

Covers of the Week #74: Peter Attard

Sweet Savage Flame’s Covers of the Week for Monday, October 17, 2022, to October 23, 2022, shows off four charming and lovely romance covers painted by Peter Attard.

surrender in scarlet attard

Covers of the Week #72: Autumn Leaves

We’re a few days late for the Autumnal Equinox. For our Covers of the Week starting Monday, September 26, 2022, until Sunday, October 2, 2022, let’s welcome Autumn with these vibrant romance covers displaying couples in passionate embraces.

autumn romance cover

Covers of the Week #71

By the end of the 1990s, the clinch cover was not the only option for romance books. For the week of Monday, September 26, 2022, to Sunday, October 2, our Covers of the Week features plain romance covers without couples or clinches.

tradewinds

Covers of the Week #70

Covers of the Week #70, for the week of Monday, September 19, 2022, to Sunday, September 25, highlights the impressionistic stylings of cover artist Charles Geer.

my lady destiny

Covers of the Week #69

Jon Paul Ferrara is one of the most talented artists/photographers in the industry. His covers appear regularly in the most select novels, particularly romance. For our Covers of the Week for Monday, August 1, 2022, to Sunday, August 7, 2022, we’re highlighting the early romance covers by Jon Paul Ferrara.

honeyed lies

Covers of the Week #68

For the week of Monday, September 5 to Sunday, September 11, 2022, our Covers of the Week highlights some romance covers featuring the mercurially handsome model Steve Sandalis.

Covers of the Week #67

Judy York has been a book cover illustrator for nearly thirty years. She produced artwork for many publishers, including Ballantine, Berkley, Dorchester, Harlequin, and Zebra.

desires-song-judy-york

Covers of the Week #66

For the week of Monday, July 11, 2022, to Sunday, July 17, 2022, here are some romance covers designed by artist Charles Gehm.

border fires gehm

Covers of the Week #64

It’s June and what would June be without a rainbow? The rainbow is a symbol of the Divine, hope, and of love. This week we’ve got romance covers with rainbows!

across the rainbow jean monti

Romance Cover Model: Rob Ashton

Fabio officially retired from modeling for romance covers–except for the books “he wrote”–in 1993. In the 1990s and the 2000s, Rob Ashton was one of the cover models who took his place, even earning the title of “New King of Romance Novels.”

rob ashton

Covers of the Week #63 June Brides Historical

We’re wrapping up our month-long feature on weddings and brides on covers. For the week of Monday, June 20 to Sunday, June 26, 2022, let’s hear it for historical brides!

betray the night

Covers of the Week #62

This week from Monday, June 13, 2022, to Sunday, June 19, 2022, we’re celebrating weddings. Here are some Regency-era romance covers featuring brides and grooms.

lord carews bride

Two Gay Romance Firsts: The Happily Ever After Ending and Clinch Cover

Gordon Merrick created the legendary Peter & Charlie gay romance series. The trilogy portrayed the first mainstream love story between two men that concluded happily ever after. Another milestone in gay fiction occurred when they were reprinted in the 1980s. A young artist named Victor Gadino illustrated the iconic clinch covers. Never before had two men been pictured so intimately on romance novels.

gay romance
Scroll to Top