cassie edwards

Cassie Edwards

cassie edwards
Cassie Edwards

The Rise

Biographical information for Cassie Edwards is fairly limited. She says on the back cover of her book Savage Surrender that she became interested in writing romance novels after reading books her friends gave her.

Edwards’s first book, Portrait of Desirea traditional historical romance, was published by Kensington’s Zebra imprint in June 1982.

portrait of desire
Portrait of Desire, Cassie Edwards, Zebra, 1982, cover art Walter Popp

Over the course of the next 27 years, Edwards would author 108 books in total, which were published by four different publishing houses: Dorchester, Harlequin, Kensington, and Signet. In total, Mrs. Edwards wrote:

  • 3 novellas that appeared in anthologies.
  • 6 series:
    • Chippewa5 books.
    •  Dreamcatcher Indian3 books.
    •  Savage35 books. 
    •  Savage Secrets12 books.
    • Wild Arizona6 books.
    • Wild Tribes4 books. (Note: the 6 Wild Arizona and two of the Wild Tribes books are published under two different names by two different publishers.)
  • Approximately 41 standalone books. (It was hard to count them all). 

Edwards was a highly successful author, appearing on the New York Times bestselling books list and winning two Romantic Times awards. Her books sold more than 10 million copies.

The Crash and Burn

In early 2008, the romance novel blog Smart Bitches, Trashy Books accused Edwards of significant acts of plagiarism. At first, Signet, her most recent publisher, defended her. Later they dropped Edwards from their author roster.

Afterward, Edwards claimed she didn’t know she had to credit sources for her material.

Her last book, Savage Dawn, was published in September 2009.

savage dawn
Savage Dawn, Cassie Edwards, Leisure, 2009, cover artist unknown

Book Reviews

More On Cassie Edwards at Sweet Savage Flame

Complete Series in Order List


1) Savage Obsession (Oct-1983)
2) Savage Innocence (Nov-1984)
3) Savage Heart (1985)
4) Savage Torment (Jan-1986)
5) Savage Paradise (Feb-1987)


1) Running Fox (Dec-2006)
2) Shadow Bear (Jul-2007)
3) Falcon Moon (Jan-2008)


1) Savage Illusion (Aug-1993)
2) Savage Spirit (Aug-1994)
3) Savage Secrets (Aug-1995)
4) Savage Passions (Feb-1996)
5) Savage Longings (Feb-1997)
6) Savage Tears (Aug-1997)
7) Savage Heat (Feb-1998)
8) Savage Wonder (Aug-1998)
9) Savage Joy (Feb-1999)
10) Savage Embers (Feb-1994)
11) Savage Shadows (Aug-1996)
12) Savage Fires (Aug-1999)
13) Savage Grace (Feb-2000)
14) Savage Devotion (Jul-2000)
15) Savage Thunder (Jan-2001)
16) Savage Honor (Jul-2001)
17) Savage Moon (Feb-2002)
18) Savage Love (Aug-2002)
19) Savage Destiny (Feb-2003)
20) Savage Hero (Aug-2003)
21) Savage Trust (Feb-2004)
22) Savage Hope (Aug-2004)
23) Savage Courage (Feb-2005)
24) Savage Vision (Sep-2005)
25) Savage Arrow (Feb-2006)
26) Savage Beloved (Jun-2006)
27) Savage Tempest (Oct-2006)
28) Savage Quest (Feb-2007)
29) Savage Intrigue (Jun-2007)
30) Savage Skies (Sep-2007)
31) Savage Glory (Nov-2007)
32) Savage Flames (Feb-2008)
33) Savage Abandon (Sep-2008)
34) Savage Sun (Apr-2009)
35) Savage Dawn (Sep-2009)

Savage Secrets

1) Savage Surrender (Aug-1987)
2) Savage Eden (Mar-1988)
3) Savage Splendor (Sep-1988)
4) Savage Whispers (May-1991)
5) Savage Bliss (Apr-1990)
6) Savage Dream (Jun-1990)
7) Savage Dance (May-1991)
8) Savage Persuasion (Aug-1991)
9) Savage Promise (Feb-1992)
10) Savage Mists (Aug-1992)
11) Savage Sunrise (Feb-1993)
12) Savage Pride (Jun-1995)

Wild Arizona

1) Wild Ecstasy / Savage Wrongs (May-1992)
2) Wild Rapture / Savage Touch (Oct-1992)
3) Wild Embrace / Savage Wind (Jun-1993)
4) Wild Splendor / Savage Nights (Nov-1993)
5) Wild Desire / Savage Storm (May-1994)
6) Wild Abandon / Savage Lies (Nov-1994)

Wild Tribes

1) Wild Bliss / Savage Darkness (Jun-1995)
2) Wild Thunder / Savage Rage (Dec-1995)
3) Wild Whispers (May-1996)
4) Wind Walker (Jun-2004)

Cassie Edwards Book Covers

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: